How to Require LGMA Certification From Your Lettuce Suppliers


LGMA Members

Written by April Ward

The grocery stores, restaurants and distributors who sell leafy greens have a simple way to provide assurance that lettuce and leafy greens they sell are farmed and harvested using science-based food safety practices – by requiring that their suppliers are LGMA certified.

LGMA members are audited an average of five times throughout each year to verify their compliance with a set of science-based food safety practices that also meet and exceed FDA’s Food Safety Modernization Act Produce Safety Rule.

1. Update Your Food Safety Policy to Require LGMA Certification

Simply add a clause to your purchasing policy for leafy greens (see which ones are covered by the LGMA below) that are grown in California and Arizona stating that these items must come from a Certified LGMA member.

Crops covered under LGMA: Arugula, Chard, Butter Leaf Lettuce, Escarole, Iceberg Lettuce, Red leaf Lettuce, Baby Leaf Lettuce, Cabbage, Spinach, Endive, Kale, Green Leaf Lettuce, Romaine Lettuce, Spring Mix
LGMA Certified Crops

2. Find LGMA Certified Members

The most up to date way to find a list of Certified LGMA members is on our website, here:

Need more help updating your policy? Reach out to LGMA Staff to discuss in greater detail:

Scott Horsfall
Chief Executive Officer

April Ward
Marketing Director

Back to Top